Ray Gilbert Awards for Excellence

1. Overview

The Ray Gilbert Awards for Excellence (formerly the Excellence Awards) are one of Council’s most prestigious awards.

The awards recognise those who have made a significant contribution to our City.

Recognition could be in any field such as business, community, sports or arts.

Achievements can be made at a local, state, national or international level.


2. How to nominate

Nominations can be for individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to, or brought more benefit to our City. They can also be made for contributions made outside the City which have brought recognition to the City of Onkaparinga.

Nominations received for a Ray Gilbert Award for Excellence are approved by Council.

Nominations should be made in writing to mail@onkaparinga.sa.gov.au


3. Previous recipients - 2017

  • Brayden Davidson
    In recognition of receiving a gold medal in athletics at the 2016 Rio Paralympics

  • Hayden Gunn
    In recognition of winning the 2016 Under 18 Junior World Team Championships in Eight-ball

4. Previous recipients - 2013

  • Stephanie Morton
    (Cycling) piloted for Felicity Johnson (who is legally blind) at the London 2012 Paralympics where the pair won a Gold medal in the women’s cycling 1 Km Time Trial B event. 

  • Flagstaff Freighters
    (Tennis) won a national title and are the inaugural 2013 Asia-Pacific Tennis League Women’s Champions.

    The following are Gold medallists from the Rescue 2012 Championships held in Adelaide:

  • Peter Mullany and Jamie Hole
    Double Ski – Moana Surf Life Saving Club

  • Lee Myatt and David Myatt
    Mixed Double Ski –Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club

  • Craig Burton
    Beach Run – Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club

  • Craig Cooper
    Men’s Board – Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club

  • Sharon Beaver and Cherie Jentz
    Board Rescue – Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club

  • Russall Cooper, Craig Cooper and David Myatt
    Oceanman Relay – Port Noarlunga Surf Life Saving Club 

  • Steven Clohesy, John Treacy, Robert Perry, Anita Johns, John Hall, Trevor Harris, Franklin Drake, David Watt, Jennifer Whitmee, Katherine Lines, Gregory Higgs, David Gardner and Bob Mayor AM as Coach
    Open March
    Past – South Port Surf Life Saving Club

  • Sven Molenaar and Vince McMullen
    Double Ski – Christies Beach Surf Life Saving Club

  • Boyd Jamieson, Carl Heyward and Matthew Lee
    Board Relay – Christies Beach Surf Life Saving Club


5. Previous recipients - 2012

  • Sam Willoughby
    (BMX) began BMX riding at the Happy Valley BMX Club and has won numerous Australian Titles, World titles and was selected as part of the 2012 Australian Olympic Team. Since being awarded the Excellence Award, Sam received a Silver Olympic medal at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

  • Flagstaff Freighters
    (Tennis) won the SA National Tennis League Ladies Championships and were runners up in the Championships National Finals.