Key to the City

The Key to the City recognises exceptional, outstanding achievement and is Council’s most prestigious award. The award acknowledges the outstanding contribution of an individual or organisation in furthering the ideals of the city or to recognise outstanding achievement. The granting of the Key to the City is a symbolic gesture with no formal entitlements.

Nomination, assessment and awarding of this award is by Elected Members to Council for approval.

Recipients are recognised on an honours board, which is displayed in the Council Chamber.

Previous Recipients

2019 - Richie Porte Mayor-Key-to-the-City-Richie-Porte-2019.jpg

In January 2019, Richie Porte was awarded the Key to the City of Onkaparinga in recognition of conquering the gruelling Old Willunga Hill stage an unprecedented five consecutive times. He then went on to win the stage again in 2020 – an incredible six wins in total! 

The Key was presented by Mayor Erin Thompson to Richie Porte at the start line of the final stage of the 2019 Tour Down Under, during which Richie went on to conquer the Old Willunga Hill for the sixth consecutive time.

Richie Porte has twice finished second in the Santos Tour Down Under and claimed overall victory in 2017.

Richie was born in Launceston, Tasmania in 1985. He started his professional cycling career in 2010 following two successful seasons racing at amateur level in Europe. Since then Richie has had many career achievements including being a two-time winner of Paris-Nice.

2006 - Mayor Ray Gilbert OAM JP & Edith Gilbert JP

Mayor Ray Gilbert OAM JP and Edith Gilbert JP were awarded the Key and Freedom to the City of Onkaparinga in 2006 in recognition of their achievements and outstanding service to Local Government through the City of Noarlunga, the City of Happy Valley, Noarlunga and Willunga and the City of Onkaparinga and the local community.

1998 - Dr Andrew S W Thomas

Dr Andrew S W Thomas was awarded the Key to the City of Onkaparinga in 1998 in recognition of his achievements as a NASA Astronaut and an Aerodynamic Scientist.