Australia Day Awards

Congratulations to our 2022 Australia Day Award recipients.

  • Citizen of the Year - Dr Mark Potter
  • Young Citizen of the Year - Leo Oliver
  • Community Event of the Year - Fleurieu Folk Festival Day 

Find out more about these local legends in  OnkaparingaNow

These annual awards recognise local individuals and groups who have made an outstanding contribution to our communities during the year in the following categories.

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Little Hero of the Year
  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Active Citizenship (non Australian Citizens)

For more information please contact our Civic Events team:

Nominations for our City of Onkaparinga 2023 Australia Day Awards will open in September 2022.


Citizen of the Year

To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen, should reside in the City of Onkaparinga and/ or have made a significant voluntary contribution to the Onkaparinga community through the year or over a number of years.

2022 Recipient Dr Mark Potter
2021 Recipient Paul Crate
2020 Recipient  Chris Lemar and Carlee Lynch
2019 Recipient Patricia Whiting
2018 Dual Recipients Brian Dempsey and William Threadgold
2017 Dual Recipients Kellie Matalone and Keryn McElroy
2016 Recipient Therese Francis
2015 Recipient  Stephen Hancock
2014 Recipient Peter Higgins
2013 Dual Recipients  Jim Fenoughty and Craig Warman
2012 Recipient  Bernard Smart
2011 Recipient  Joan Harris
2010 Recipient  Derry McGaffin

Young Citizen of the Year

To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen and must be aged 30 years or less on 26 January 2020.

2022 Recipient
Leo Oliver
2021 Recipient
Angus Miller
2020 Recipient  Callum Barrott Walsh
2019 Recipient Tammy Maria
2018 Recipient Lauren Jew 
2017 Recipient Jessica Perry
2016 Recipient Caleb Sutherland 
2015 Recipient James Harrington 
2013 Recipient Caleb Sutherland
2012 Recipient Lances Fakes 
2011 Recipient Christina Rees
2010 Recipient Emma Gillett

Little Hero of the Year

2020 Recipient Ruby Carpenter
2019 Recipient Abbie Walsh

Sportsperson of the Year

To be eligible, the sportsperson must be an Australian Citizen and their achievement must be outstanding. 
Demonstrated achievement in leadership on and off the field and inspire participation and involvement in sports across the Onkaparinga community.

2020 Recipient Cooper Bristow


Community Event of the Year

To be eligible, the groups or individuals will have staged an event or events during the year within the City of Onkaparinga, that demonstrated an outstanding significance for the Onkaparinga community. 

2022 Recipient
Fleurieu Folk Festival Day 
2021 Recipient
Jessica Jones Wildlife Event
2020 Recipient  Fleurieu Folk Festival
2019 Recipient Cinemallunga
2018 Dual Recipients OnkaStompa Compa and McLaren Vale Vintage and Classic
2017 Recipient Morphett Vale ANZAC Day Dawn Service
2016 Recipient  Fleurieu Folk Festival
2015 Dual Recipients Shane Crawford Comeback Game, Aldinga Football Club and Christie Downs Fun Day, Better Together Christie Downs Inc 
2014 Dual Recipients Fleurieu Folk Festival and Harvest Festival McLaren Vale
2013 Recipient CoroAlive! 175
2012 Recipient Southern Football League 125 Year Event
2011 Recipient  McLaren Vale Vintage and Classic Day