Mayor's Garden Competition


It’s time to get the garden ready.

Entries open 5 August for the 2024 Mayor’s Garden Competition.

This year's categories include:

  • Community Garden
  • School Garden
  • Urban Residential Garden
  • Native Garden
  • Rural Garden
  • Memorial Garden

Competition nominations will be online via our website, further details to come.


2023 winners

Congratulations to this years award recipients for the 2023 Mayor's Garden Competition. 

  • Best Community Garden: Wakefield House Positive Ageing Centre
  • Best School Garden: Happy Valley Primary School
  • Best Urban Residential Edible Garden: Rebekah Ashby
  • Best Urban Residential General Garden: Christine Pearson  
  • Best Urban Residential Native/Sustainable Garden: Josiah Whyte
  • Best Urban Residential Small Courtyard Garden: Sharon and Tony Watkin




Hall of Fame

Gardens that have received a Mayors Garden Competition award twice are automatically entered into the Hall of Fame. Hall of Fame inductees are still eligible to participate in the Mayors Garden Competition but are ineligible to receive an award. All Hall of Fame gardens receive a certificate of recognition and will be featured on our website.


2021 recipients

  • Best Community Garden and Hall of Fame: Elizabeth House Positive Ageing Centre
  • Best School Garden: Willunga Waldorf School
  • Best Urban Residential Garden: David Harding
  • Best Edible Residential Garden: Dee Jones & Ian Nash e
  • Best Rural Garden and Hall of Fame: Dual Winners: Louise Fuller and Irene Moon


2019 recipients

  • Best Residential Garden: Mark Staniforth
  • Best Community Garden: Elizabeth House Positive Ageing Centre
  • Best Edible Community Garden: Aldinga Community Centre
  • Best School Garden: Pimpala Primary School
  • Best Edible School Garden: Clarendon Primary School

2018 recipients

  • Open School: Tatachilla Lutheran College, McLaren Vale
  • Edible Garden: Individual: Andrew Hickman of Aldinga Beach
  • Edible Garden - School and Hall of Fame Entrant: O’Sullivan Beach School
  • Rural: Robert Laffer of McLaren Vale
  • Encouragement Award: Craigburn Primary School
  • Encouragement Award: Clarendon Primary School

2018_mayors_garden_competition_winner_andrew_hickman.jpg 2018_mayors_garden_competition_winner_osullivan_beach_primary_school.jpg

2018_mayors_garden_competition_winner_robert_laffer.jpg 2018_mayors_garden_competition_winner_tatachilla_lutheran_college.png

2017 recipients

  • Highly Commended:  Rachel McMillian of Aldinga
  • Edible Garden - School:  Christies Beach High School – Bush Tucker
  • Edible Garden – School: Pimpala Primary School, Morphett Vale
  • Edible Garden – Individual: Debbie Butler of Aldinga Beach
  • Edible Garden – Individual: Michele Jarldorn of Happy Valley
  • Open Residential Verge:  Diana Paolo of Happy Valley
  • Open Residential: Jane Baddock of Port Willunga
  • Courtyard: Fenna Petit of Christie Downs
  • Rural: Louise Fuller and Della Rowley of Coromandel East
  • Hall of Fame Entrant:  Fenna Petit

2017_mayors_garden_competition_winner_michele_jarldorn_edible_individual.jpg 2017_mayors_garden_competition_winner_louise_fuller_and_della_rowley_rural.jpg 2017_mayors_garden_competition_winner_jane_baddock_open_residential.jpg

2017_mayors_garden_competition_winner_debbie_butler_edible_garden_individual.jpg 2017_mayors_garden_competition_winner_christies_beach_high_school_edible_garden_school_bush_tucker.jpg 2017_mayors_garden_competition_rachel_mcmillian_highly_commended.jpg

2017_mayors_garden_competition_fenna_petit_courtyard_and_hall_of_fame_entrant.jpg 2017_mayors_garden_competition_diana_paola_open_residential_verge.jpg