Sea and Being Change - [GRAFTd] exhibition by Beverley Southcott

Next date: Saturday, 04 February 2023 | 02:00 PM to 04:00 PM

Sea – Sky Blue Print Diagrammatic Space, 2022, digital print. 78 x 150cm. Image courtesy artist.

Lounge gallery, Hallway gallery + Wash House 

Visiting artist Beverley Southcott presents a solo exhibition of new works to launch the Sauerbier House 2023 [GRAFTd] exhibition program. 

Referencing ongoing debates surrounding conflicts, the aftermath, and peace, Southcott’s works position domestic space as a central global location from which to receive broadcast news.

Sea and Being Change metaphorically speaks to the human strengths of empathy, kindness, and compassion. Unfortunately, these attributes have become overshadowed by the resurgence of extremism, nationalism, and neoliberalism, which are forceful components of prolonged and unresolved grief for targeted groups. The re-imagined photo media works incorporate imbued empathetic and nuanced visual expressions that reflect on our human crises and act as antidotes against the perpetual exposure to current global conflicts.

Beverley Southcott's art practice and academic research are within contemporary art theory and cultural and sociological studies on conflict, peace, and the aftermath in the late 20th and 21st century.

  Sea-and-Being-Change-Catalogue-Beverley-Southcott.pdf(PDF, 4MB) 

OPENING EVENT 

SATURDAY 4 FEBRUARY, 2–4PM

Official business starts at 2.30pm

To be opened by Catherine Speck, Emerita Professor, Art History and Curatorship, University of Adelaide.

Hugo Wines for sale by the glass + complimentary hospitality.

This is a non ticketed free event.

ARTIST TALK 

Join Beverley for an insightful afternoon artist talk and guided galley tour of Sea and Being Change.

SATURDAY 25 February 2.30 - 3.30 pm.

This is a non ticketed free event. 

Image: Beverley Southcott. Sea – Sky Blue Print Diagrammatic Space, 2022-2023, digital print, 62.5 x 120cm. Image courtesy artist.

 

800px-Adelaide_Fringe_logo_(2018).svg.png

When

  • Saturday, 04 February 2023 | 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 08 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 09 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 10 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 11 February 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 16 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 17 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 18 February 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 22 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 23 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 24 February 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 25 February 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 01 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 02 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 03 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 04 March 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 08 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 09 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 10 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 11 March 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 16 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 17 March 2023 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 18 March 2023 | 01:00 PM - 04:00 PM

Location

Sauerbier House, 21 Wearing st, Port Noarlunga, 5167, View Map

Google Map

Add to calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Invitation Date*(Required)

This event occurs over multiple dates. Please select which date you want an invite for.